Product Review- NormaTEC

I tried NormaTEC earlier this year

Life changed.

I could stop there, but I will elaborate.

First, what is NormaTEC?

NormaTec is the leader in rapid recovery—our systems give a competitive edge to the world’s elite athletes, coaches, and trainers. Our goal is to establish recovery as an integral part of every athlete’s training, and we feel NormaTec systems are the best way to accomplish that. The NormaTec PULSE Recovery Systems are dynamic compression devices designed for recovery and rehab. All of our systems use NormaTec’s patented PULSE technology to help athletes recover faster between trainings and after performance.

Our systems include a control unit and attachments which go on the legs, arms, or hips. They use compressed air to massage your limbs, mobilize fluid, and speed recovery with our patented NormaTec Pulse Massage Pattern. When you use our systems, you will first experience a pre-inflate cycle, during which the connected attachments are molded to your exact body shape. The session will then begin by compressing your feet, hands, or upper quad (depending on which attachment you are using). Similar to the kneading and stroking done during a massage, each segment of the attachment will first compress in a pulsing manner and then release. This will repeat for each segment of the attachment as the compression pattern works its way up your limb.

Here is what it looks like on my legs.

norma.png

When I first heard of NormaTEC, I honestly thought it was pretty bogus.  However, I had a free 30 minutes so I had nothing to lose.  I am always sore after a long run, and considered skipping my long run since it was only days before a race in fear that my legs will be heavy/or stiff.  Instead, I figured it was the best opportunity to give it a try.  I had the normaTEC for the first time the day after a 7 mile long run and two days before my last 5k race.  I felt a difference almost immediately.  It absolutely aided in my recovery and by race morning I felt ready to go.

Since then, I have had NormaTEC two days before every race and two days post race.  It has done so much for my recovery and I honestly think it is changing my running.  If you have this available to you, I would highly recommend it!

And, if you are in the South Jersey/Philly area, I recommend Sports Recovery Lab in Haddonfield, NJ.  I see them for chiro, ART, Graston and now of course, NormaTEC.  They also offer Cryotherapy and a full range of personal training.

Have you tried NormaTec?  Do you have a go to recovery plan?

Posted on May 25, 2017, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave me love <3

