Race Report: Adrenaline 5k

This past Sunday, I hit up a local (very popular) 5k to check off my March race towards my goal of racing at least once every month this year.  I have been looking forward to this race for over a year; before my accident, it was supposed to be my comeback race last year.  I absolutely had to do it this year!  And to think, it almost didn’t happen since a second snowstorm was being predicted all week.  Thankfully, it never happened and we had a nice dry morning!

Pre-Race:  It was a late start and local, so I didn’t even have to leave my house until 8am! Because the race director is also the owner of our local running store, and the founder of our #856 running club, I knew a ton of people running this race.  Pre-race was mostly just chatting and catching up with friends.

Race: I started off with a friend who runs just over my typical race pace, because I did not want to go out too fast.  Starting too fast is definitely my greatest racing flaw and I am working very hard at pacing myself!  I was also worried about slick roads, but that was thankfully, an unfounded concern.  After about a mile, I took off on my own and was feeling great.  I know the course well, since it encompasses part of our bi-weekly Monday group run and I was really comfortable the entire race.  There was great support on the course and the temperature turned out to be perfect!  Their was a huge Ainsley’s Angels turnout and it was awesome to see them on the course as well.  So proud of and inspired by my friends who run with these kids!  It was a great race and I was stoked to have come in under my goal time.  It was a few seconds slower than my last 5k, but I paced myself much better and felt stronger overall!

20170318_093546

20170318_102948

Post-Race:  Got a chocolate milk and bagel, chatted with friends and hit up the post-race party back at the running store.  Later that night we celebrated the race director and store owners birthday, along with the 20th birthday of the store!  The funniest part of the night was how many people commented about how much hair I have!  Most of them only see me at group runs or races, when my hair is up or under a hat!

20170318_204317

20170318_221154

Overall, it was a really great day and night!

Next race: Hot Chocolate 15k

Posted on March 21, 2017, in Race Reports, Racing, Running. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Yay! Congrats on coming in under your goal! It sounds really fun to go to this race and know so many people! And to the party after 🙂 Ha, it’s so funny to see our running friends outside of their running uniforms!

  1. Pingback: Week In Review; March 18-24 | Jillian Loves...

Leave me love <3

