Product Review- Flip Belt

There was a time when I thought I would never find anything I could wear comfortably around my waist while I run.  This makes running more difficult than you might think, as I have to find a place for my keys, hold my phone and most annoying, plan every route around where I will be able to find water.  I used to wear a spi-belt, which I loved; it held everything perfectly and hardly moved. But, it wasn’t ideal because it didn’t solve the water problem. (And, eventually my phone outgrew it.) When I trained for the marathon, I actually did my 20 mile run on a 5 mile loop, so that I could stop at my car for water/fuel. Ridiculous, right?!?

When I started running again, I made it my mission to find a hydration belt I could live with.  I went through five.  I even went back and tried ones I had tried before.  I. Hated. Every. One.  I absolutely cannot run with something bouncing around on my waist and not one of them would stay put.  I would read amazing reviews just to find out they did not work for me.  It was frustrating to say the least and I spent the summer running the same routes with the same planned water stops (thank GOD for CVS!).  This had to stop!  I knew the search for the perfect belt was in full force.  I could not begin to train again for any distance until I found something that would alleviate this issue.

I determined pretty quickly that a handheld anything would be out of the question.  I already hated holding my phone, so I knew I wouldn’t want to hold water.  However, at the insistence of a few running friends, I tried.  It was a clear cut no from me.

no

Sometime in late fall I saw an ad on Facebook for Flipbelt*.  Flip belt comes in three styles- zipper, classic and water.  That’s right…a belt that comes with water bottles AND holds a phone, ID and a key.  It looked too good to be true but I could not find one negative review. I posted on my local running page and turns out, a few of my fellow runners had also recently discovered them and loved them.

A few weeks after first seeing the ad, I saw they were running a sale. I was not going to pass this up.  I emailed the link to my mom with the subject line “Christmas Gift” and crossed my fingers that this would be the belt to end the belt search!

I am happy to report that the Flipbelt has been the BEST belt I have ever used.  I love it!  I haven’t had to use it with all three water bottles yet, but so far with my phone, key, ID and up to two of the bottles, it works awesome.  I hardly even know it is there- everything fits perfectly and it really does not move at all.  It took almost zero getting used to.  At first, I was aware of the bottle on my waist, but after a few minutes of running it settled in.  I am still working on getting items in and out while keeping a pace because it can be difficult to slide them while moving, but that is a (very) small criticism, especially because the entire point is for everything to stay put!

The flipbelt is fast becoming my favorite piece of running gear.  I love being hands free while running and having water with me. (And being hands free at the gym since I don’t need to carry my phone around.)  I am most looking forward to what a relief it will be come summer to be able to run routes without having to be concerned about hydration.

20170220_163047-1

Obviously terrible at side shot selfies, but you can see how nice it fits around the waist!

 

*Disclaimer- I received this as a gift from my parents for Christmas.  I am not being compensated in any way for my review.

Posted on February 23, 2017, in Product Review, Racing, Running. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I also use this 🙂 Absolutely love it!

Leave me love <3

