Bucket List- De-Clutter My House

High up on my bucket list but perpetually at the bottom of my priorities, is my desire to de-clutter my house.  Clutter has been an issue in my life since I was old enough to have things.  I have always been a collector and a messy person.  (Messy, not dirty.)  As a messy collector, I have always had to walk that fine line between being a pack-rat and being a hoarder.  I am convinced there is a difference, but I am also convinced that living with less clutter means living more serenely.  And who doesn’t need some serenity!

Of course, wanting to do something and actually doing it are two different things.  I have WANTED to be a neater person for years.  In each new apartment, and later my house, I loved being able to start fresh and for a few months I would do great.  Then, just like that…so much stuff.  I have never lived completely unpacked.  I have been in my house for close to 5 years.  Five years, and I still have boxes.  This is ridiculous folks.  I am finally ready to start making things happen!

Since I have already failed 249387 times, I knew the first thing I had to do was find a new plan.  I did some research and the book by Maria Kondo, the life-changing magic of tidying up, kept resurfacing.  Then, within days of that search, two different friends posted about it on Facebook, with PROOF of their own accomplishments.  That gave credit directly to the book.  I was certain, I needed this book.  Plus, it serves a double purpose since reading more was one of my resolutions.

So, I got the book.  Now, I just have to open it up 🙂

Are you a neat or messy person?  Are you easily attached to items?

Posted on January 19, 2017, in Around the House, Bucket List, Life in General. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave me love <3

