Tracking Workouts

When I first started training, I used to do a week in review.  It was basically a way to track my workouts, how I felt in general and to constantly keep track of my goals.  When I stopped blogging, I also stopped tracking my workouts.  I never picked it up again and didn’t think much of it until recently.  I realized it was probably one of the most important posts I wrote each week.  Probably not the most exciting for readers, but the most necessary for myself.  I went back onto Finishing is Winning and read some past reviews. It made me happy to re-read those reviews because I feel like I am finally getting back to where I was when I was at my best.  It has been such a long road (I hate to keep repeating that, but it is true) and I am so proud to finally be working my way back to my best self.  I have missed that girl a lot.  Now that I am really back into training, with multiple races on the docket, I think this is the best way to keep myself accountable.  I always ended them with a weekly high and weekly low reflection, along with three things I am grateful for each week and a quote.  I happen to think this weeks quote is perfect 🙂

Saturday: Off, but I celebrated NY Eve by eating my weight in cookies and drinking too much red wine 🙂

Sunday: 2 miles running- last thing I wanted to do but had could not let the day go by without doing something, especially because it was beautiful out. Happy New Year!!!

Monday: 600 meters swimming- freestyle.  My first time swimming laps in a pool in almost three years!  I have missed swimming so much and it felt amazing to be back in the water!

Tuesday: Ran 2.5 miles, easy. Treadmill, because it was pouring!!!

Wednesday: 750  meters swimming- 4 x 100 free,  2 x 100 with kick board and ended with 3 x 50 meter sprint repeats.

Thursday: OFF

Friday: 1000 meters swimming- 5 x 200 freestyle repeats. Not a bad way to end the work week.

Weekly High: Getting back in the water!!

Weekly Low: Just how tired I was the whole week.  I am getting back on track but still staying up too late.

Three things I am grateful for this week:

  1. Getting back in the pool!
  2. My 856 running and tri groups that keep me accountable.
  3. Coffee!!!!!

Quote of the week: 

Image result for quotes about getting back on track

I know I said I was going to get away from the weekly posts, but I think this one is important. It is the perfect way to start the New Year and stay accountable, so they are back!

How did you start off the year?

Posted on January 6, 2017, in Week in Review. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Yay for being back in the pool! I have seen people using kickboards at our gym and wonder if I should try it!

    I do a recap every week and it’s SO USEFUL. And, like you said, can be encouraging to see if you were back to working out like you were at a time when you felt great! Keep doing what works for you!

  2. Also, yes, try the kickboard! I like that and the pull bouy best because then you can focus on just arm work or leg work!

Leave me love <3

