Resolutions

I am not really big on New Year resolutions- I feel like you can change anytime, regardless of the date on the calendar.  With that said, I do always like to use the New Year as a time to reflect and think about some of the things I want to accomplish in the upcoming year.

  1. I think I finished all of three books this year.  Sad.  I need to make reading more of a priority and do something with the stack of unread books next to my bed!  The goals is one book a month and do review the said book on the blog as a way to keep myself accountable.  I should probably get started on January!
  2. Write more.  Duh.  Kind of the point of picking up the blog again!
  3. I have been making it a point to take one or two trips a year for the last few years, and I definitely want to keep up the traveling this year!  I absolutely love to travel and prefer to spend money on experiences, not things.
  4. Last August, I gave up sugar.  Completely for the first weeks, with the exception to natural sugars in fresh fruits and veggies.  Then, I stayed very low sugar, only treating myself a few times over the course of four months.  It was SO HARD but I definitely felt a hundred times better.  A fun side effect was a decent amount of weight loss, but the best part was how good I felt.  Over my winter break, I fell hard off the wagon. Like, face first into the ground.  So. Much. Sugar.  This past week, I have gone back to weaning myself off and I am feeling the struggle.  However, knowing how great I felt before, I am re-committed 100%.  I truly believe sugar is the real problem and know without question it is the best healthy lifestyle choice I can make for myself.
  5.  I have been working really hard over the past few years to put away a decent savings.  Not easy, as it seems every time I get to a comfortable place, something decides to break in my house.  Plus, I have a list that keeps getting longer of things I want to do to make home improvements.  However, I made huge improvements in paying off debt and I want to use the “extra” to keep up the savings.
  6. I tend to be really conservative with my money when it comes to splurging on myself, but as important as it is to save, I also think it is important to spend.  (See above: experiences over things.)
  7. Donating isn’t just about money.  I give to quite a few charities and I am happy to do so, but I want to make more of an effort to donate my time.  Everyone gets the same amount of hours in the day, and I hope to use more of mine in ways that help others this year.
  8. I spend way too much time on screens, between my phone and my computers at both work and home.   It is simply not healthy and often unnecessary.  I need to get better about shutting down and shutting off.  Too many of my 24 hours are spent looking at a screen.  Those hours could be better serving my desires to volunteer, read, or you know…relax!
  9. I have this cute little tab up at the top of my blog listing all of these things I want to do; there’s no real time frame but I have a few in mind I would like to complete this year.
  10. Shit or get off the pot.  For real.  It is high time I stop just talking and start just doing.  I spend too much time worried about how my decisions would affect others; that is sweet of me, but I have to start thinking of my own long term future.  I need to get comfortable with the uncomfortable and just do it.  (I make it sound good, right?!?)

 

I also like to give some words of advice to others for a successful New Year:

  1. When having a discussion, don’t use Google to support your facts.  Ah, critical thinking,what the olden days were like!
  2. Cut people out of your life who you truly do not like and add people who you truly do. Note: On Earth, not just Facebook.
  3. Enough with detoxing and juicing and cleansing and pills.  If you want to lose a little weight quickly, eat less and exercise like crazy.  If you want to lose a lot of weight slowly, do yourself a favor and make a lifestyle change.
  4. Volunteer at least once over the next 90 days.  Don’t tell social media about it.
  5.  Tell those you love that you love them on a more regular basis. To their face, not in an email or text.
  6. Back up your photos.  And take more of them no matter what you look like!
  7. Please stop liking the Kardashians.  All of them.
  8. Shit or get off the pot.  This applies to whatever thing you’re not doing that you should just sack up and do already.  I’ll try to practice what I preach!
Posted on January 5, 2017, in About Me, Life in General. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I love this! I think these goals are great, and the advice is spot on.

  2. chasingthekenyans

    This post. YES. Experiences > things (hey I’m always up for a road trip just let me know haha!). Less screen time (I’m soo bad about that). Eat clean and exercise. I agree with you 100%! Here’s to successful 2017s for both of us!

Leave me love <3

