A Lot Can Happen In Two Years…

At least a few times a week, I think to myself, “I wish I was still blogging.”  Today, almost 2.5 years after my last post, I decided to try again.

I think the hardest part about starting over, is defining myself as a blogger.  Prior to this experiment, which only lasted a few months, I had a blog for 5 years.  I kept up with that blog despite working full time and being in school full time.  That blog was (and still is) a picture of who I was at the time.  It was easy to keep up with because it came so naturally.  I was essentially keeping a record of my life over those years.  Every now and then, I would write a serious post, but for the most part my subjects were always running, triathlon and life in general.  Then came a few major life changes and I was burnt out.  My life was changing and I no longer felt the blog reflected where I was going with running and triathlon.  So, I stopped blogging completely.  After a short break, I started this one…but it never really took off for me.  I wanted it to be a place where I could talk about my favorite things- books, food, running…etc.  I also wanted it to be a place where I could lay down the thoughts I intentionally shorten for, or entirely keep off of, Facebook.  I went back and looked and I published exactly one post of that nature; my last post.

As I began to really crave writing again, and picking up blogging again, I tried to assess what went wrong.  And of course, answer the nagging question, “how do I start over?”  The answer came to me and it was fairly simple.  I want a blog, where I can just write.  No weekly themes, no specific amounts of posts a week/month; just writing about whatever I feel like, from silly musings to the issues that really matter to me.  Talking about the things I love (or maybe the things I don’t love) and once again exploring my passion for the written word.  Truly, that was the purpose of this blog when I started it the first time, but I quickly got away from it.  So instead of once again starting over with a new blog, I decided to just pick up where I left off.  This time, staying true to the original purpose behind Jillian Loves- writing, eating, running and living!

Cheers!

Posted on December 20, 2016, in About Me, Life in General. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Welcome back! Not setting any expectations for how or when or what you will blog about will make it much more enjoyable! 🙂

  2. chasingthekenyans

    Yes! Welcome back! I’m struggling to find the time but I’m trying. So glad you’re back!!

Leave me love <3

