New Food Friday- August 8, 2014

New Food Friday is a weekly post that coincides with one of the items on my bucket list; that is, to try one new food or recipe a week for a whole year.

Recently, I went on a date to Atlantic City for the day, and at night we decided to try a new (to us) restaurant.  I really do consider myself pretty adventurous with food and I am generally willing to at least try something.  However, in Atlantic City, things aren’t cheap and I worried that I would get something I didn’t like when we decided on Cuba Libre.  I will admit, I played it a little safe but still went with something I had never had.  That’s right…I never had skirt steak before.  Actually, I only started eating steak in the last year.  For so long, I didn’t eat any red meat, so I am still figuring out what I like and don’t like when it comes to meat.  I love filet, and it’s pretty much the only steak I eat, so this was definitely new for me.  Plus, it came with cooked mushrooms.  Mushrooms weird me out.  It was a “no” food until that night, and low and behold…I liked them!  It’s always fun to surprises oneself!

cuba

Grilled skirt steak, roasted garlic boniato-potato mash, lemon and onion sauce. watercress and rosemary mushroom escabèche salad.

 

Cuba Libre has a great vibe.  We walked in looking for a reservation for about an hour later and they were more than accommodating when we ended up calling after realizing we needed more time.  Upon arriving for our reservation, we were greeted warmly and seated promptly.  The booth was a little funky; my legs were too short and I had a hard time getting comfortable.  I ended up sitting cross legged because my feet were either hitting the middle bar or uncomfortably not reaching the ground.  Besides that small complaint, everything was great.  Our table was small and intimate and our server was knowledgeable and attentive.

I ordered our waiters suggestion of a vodka mojito (I don’t drink rum) and it was delicious!  Their bread was warm and the butter was so good!  It is a sugar butter and so ridiculously good.  Next up came the main course and I was very excited.  However, my knife was defective and I legit could not cut a single piece of the steak!  I was worried because I am used to melt in your mouth type filet, but once I had a new knife, I was good to go!  Everything about the meal was delicious and it was perfect with my glass of Pinot Noir.  The seasoning was done just right and everything went together perfectly.  I probably could have done without the greens, only because they felt a little out of place, but this was definitely a meal I would get again.  And the best part of all, is that I am looking forward to cooking with mushrooms now!

Cuba Libre has quite a few locations; if you live near one, I highly recommend you check it out!

❤ Jillian

Posted on August 8, 2014, in Food, New Food Friday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Sounds like you had a great dinner! Cuban food is so great. And a mojito with Cuban food is just perfect!

  2. 1. Short girl problems… understood!

    2. Years of unsuccessfully trying to get you to eat mushrooms. Sheesh…!

Leave me love <3

