New Food Friday- July 25, 2014

New Food Friday is a weekly post that coincides with one of the items on my bucket list; that is, to try one new food or recipe a week for a whole year.

I totally missed last two weeks of New Food Friday, thanks  my laptop crapping the bed.  It is super difficult (think 10 on a scale of 1-10) to blog from my IPad, so I really haven’t been doing to much updating.  However, I picked up my new one last night and now everything is right again in blog world 🙂

Just because I am not blogging about them, doesn’t mean I haven’t been trying new things!

One of the things I made for my birthday was my very first homemade cheesecake.

I decided to make a baked cheesecake because a no bake cheesecake it not even a real thing because it is my favorite dessert.

Now, as you all know, I have been working really hard to eat clean and be healthy.  I definitely made a healthier version, but also kept some of what makes a cheesecake a cheesecake.  I also got close to 16 slices out of it, which made it a pretty good choice, but it is definitely still a treat!

birhday5

 

This was the most perfect dessert!  I was so impressed with myself!  Everyone loved it and it was devoured within 20 minutes!  I have already been requested to make it again!

Recipe-

For the cheesecake:

2 eight ounce bars of cream cheese (I did one regular and one 1/3 fat)

1/2 cup sugar

1/4 cup sour cream

1/4 cup plain Greek yogurt

2 eggs

1 tbsp of vanilla

*Make sure ALL ingredients are room temperature before making the batter.  This includes the eggs!  First, blend only the cream cheese.  Then, add the sour cream, yogurt and vanilla.  Then, when blended, add in the eggs one at a time.  Do not over mix the batter; you want to avoid getting too much air into it, which will keep it from baking correctly.

Bake at 350 degrees for 40 minutes.

Take out and let cool to room temperature for approx. 30 minutes.

For the topping:1/2 cup sour cream

1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt

3 tablespoons sugar

1 tablespoon vanilla

1 cup strawberries; halved.

After the cake has cooled, apply the icing and then bake at 325 degrees for 10 minutes.

Cool for one hour at room temperature.

Add strawberries before serving.

Refrigerate until ready to eat.  (Should be refrigerated for at least 4 hours.)

Nutritional stats: (per slice; 8 slices per cake)
Calories- 370.4
Fat- 21.5, Sugar- 28.5, Carbs- 28.5mg, Protein- 9g, Fiber-0, Sodium- 268.9mg

Please Note: Nutritional information estimated based on brands I use and/or calculations using nutriondata.com and sparkpeople.com. Data may not be completely accurate and yours may differ. You should not refer to this data as being exact but as a figure. I do not take responsibility for the inadequacies of the nutrition calculator used. This data is provided for general reference.

 

❤ Jillian

Posted on July 25, 2014, in Food, New Food Friday, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Yay! Congrats on your first cheesecake. Looks delicious!

  2. Yum! I’ll have to try this one out. My father-in-law makes really yummy cheesecake but unfortunately it’s loaded with fats and sugars. Yours would make a great substitute. Thanks for sharing!

Leave me love <3

