New Food Friday- July 4, 2014

New Food Friday is a weekly post that coincides with one of the items on my bucket list; that is, to try one new food or recipe a week for a whole year.

Last night I was craving something salty/sweet, so it was the perfect time to make the nut butter cookies I had been wanting to try.  The only recipes I could fine were for either almond or peanut butter and I was looking for a mix.  So I took a peanut butter cookie recipe I have had for years and changed it up.

First, I mixed together the peanut butter and almond butter.

image

I could seriously eat this by the spoonful!

Then, I added in the rest of the ingredients and mixed it up.

image

And viola!

image

I reallllly need to work on the food photos!

Recipe:

1/4 cup peanut butter
1/4 cup almond butter
1/4 cup oats
1/2 cup sugar
1 egg
1tsp honey

Nutritional stats: per cookie (makes 12 small cookies)
Calories- 117
Fat- 6, Sugar- 10.3, Carbs- 14.1mg, Protein- 3.4g, Fiber-1, Sodium- 40mg

Please Note: Nutritional information estimated based on brands I use and/or calculations using nutriondata.com and sparkpeople.com. Data may not be completely accurate and yours may differ. You should not refer to this data as being exact but as a figure. I do not take responsibility for the inadequacies of the nutrition calculator used. This data is provided for general reference.

These were really good, but they need to be tweaked. I blindly decided how much of what to put it and while they are good, I feel like the ingredients are competing instead of meshing. I’m definitely going to make these again. Less sugar maybe and I’m thinking a mashed banana instead of the egg (which makes them vegan).

In addition to be yummy, these were the perfect start to my day as a quick pre-workout snack. They are pretty darn healthy…you know, for a cookie 🙂

PS- Happy Birthday America!!!!

 

Posted on July 4, 2014, in Food, New Food Friday, Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave me love <3

