New Food Friday- June 20, 2014

New Food Friday is a weekly post that coincides with one of the items on my bucket list; that is, to try one new food or recipe a week for a whole year.

I was struggling to find new foods (there are plenty I want to try, but it’s a matter of budget and finding recipes) and thought, “how the heck am I going to do this for a year” but then I looked up a ton of recipes and now I am good for a few weeks!  So many creative things on Pinterest; I cannot believe how long it took me to join!

I have been making a TON of smoothies lately but I pretty much stick the to same few recipes.  As a liquid base, I only ever use Almond Milk.  However, I wanted to change things up a bit, so I decided to get some coconut water.  I only ever tasted coconut water one time in my life.  After a 7 mile race downtheshore because that is what they were handing out at the finish.  I did not love it.

However, coconut water is VERY good for you!  And for me 🙂

Here are just a few things coconut water is good for:  boosting hydration, facilitating digestion, reducing blood pressure, regulates circulation, keeps the kidney stones away, treats bloating and has anti-aging properties to help keep skin healthy and glowing!    Oh, and for you beer guzzlers or winos, it is also the KING of hangover remedies!  You can thank me later!

 

I had more than enough reasons to give coconut water a second chance and in the smoothie and since all I could taste was the fruit, it was delicious!

 smoothie

I only just now realized I have a Proctor, not an Oster. Haha.

 

1 container of coconut water

1 cup strawberries

1 banana

3/4 cup Chobani 0% plain Greek yogurt

 

This filled my cup completely with a little extra.  It was very tasty, although a little on the thinner side than I like.  I will be tweaking the water/yogurt ratio in the future.

 

Nutritional stats:
Calories- 298
Fat- .6, Sugar- 37g, Carbs- 56.5mg, Protien- 19.3g, Fiber-5.2g, Sodium- 140mg
Please Note: Nutritional information estimated based on brands I use and/or calculations using nutriondata.com and sparkpeople.com.  Data may not be completely accurate and yours may differ.  You should not refer to this data as being exact but as a figure.  I do not take responsibility for the inadequacies of the nutrition calculator used. This data is provided for general reference only.

 

In other news, my Vitamix came today!!!!  I could not be more excited!  If you have any recipes you would like to share, I am all ears 🙂

 

❤ Jillian

Posted on June 20, 2014, in clean eating, Food, New Food Friday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’ve only had coconut water once also and was not a fan… I could probably put it in a smoothie with no issue though.
    Random question for you – do you buy almond milk due to lactose intolerance? Or do you just prefer it?

  2. I have never been diagnosed lactose intolerant, but I do have issues with bloating after I eat ice cream and usually do take lactaid. The reason I am as dairy free as possible is because I have such severe allergies in general. My immunologist said that dairy will exacerbate issues with the sinus and respiratory system, so it is best to avoid it. I started cutting back on it in the fall and now I eat very little.

Leave me love <3

