Clean Eating Challenge; Days 1-3

Well, I made it to Day 4 🙂

 Day 1-

The first day of anything new is always awesome.  I had been thinking about it for weeks, making small changes for the days leading up to Monday and was pumped to finally make the changes necessary to start down a road to a healthier me.  Here are some thoughts on the day:

  • It dawned on me while I was drinking my water that my lips don’t typically touch water after I brush my teeth until well into the mid-morning.  (Slaps own hand!!!)  I have been drinking water with lemon for over a month now because my allergist said it would be good for me, but I usually wait until I am at work.  Now I am really doing it first thing!  I have to say, it was a little hard to drink that early, but what I noticed the most was that it forced me to slow down.  I am a three times (ok, five times) alarm snoozer,which leads me to rush around in the morning trying to get everything done.  Knowing I needed the extra time, I have been setting the alarm a bit earlier and it has been so nice to not be rushing around.  I think that has done more for me than the extra 7 minute intervals of sleep I get when I snooze.
  • I decided that my omgoneandonly cup of coffee would be best suited for me to drink once I was settled in at work right about the same time I would be having my mid-morning snack.  What I have been loving is that when it is time for my mid-morning snack, I am not even that hungry and a small snack is perfect.  The smoothie does it’s job to keep me full!
  • I definitely noticed a difference in my work speed.  I felt slow and sluggish and by the time the day was over.  Not sure if it is in my head but I definitely feel like the decrease in coffee is affecting me.
  • It was my first day packing lunch and I HATE packing lunch!  One of the (most amazing) perks we get here, is free lunch.  Whatever we want from the dining hall selections, which also includes items from an awesome salad bar.  However, the Dining Hall is closed until Summer School begins, so I would be packing regardless.  First big lesson learned: packing is so much harder when you are trying to eat clean.  I had already prepped a bunch of food in tupperware; it wasn’t the lack of choices, it was more of how many tupperwares I needed for my lunch!  One for the chicken, one for the salad, one for the dressing and then another for my veggies and another for the hummus.  I kept thinking to myself, “there has to be an easier way” because lugging all those containers is not a good time.  And moreover, I was already dreading having to clean them all.  I know most the human population does this daily (and I used to as well) but I found it tough.
  • Throughout the day, I never felt hungry.  I felt bored by the pool without my usual bag of snacks, but I wasn’t hungry, so I just stuck to my water and waited for dinner.
  • My one “cheat” was that I did make myself a little dessert using one small square of Hershey’s dark chocolate.  I know that is on the no-no list because it is high in sugar and processed with Alkali, but I was craving something chocolate.  The other options still sitting in my fridge were a Reece’s Cup, a Hershey’s Almond Bar and a Regular Hershey Bar.  (Recently took the 8th grade to Hershey!)  I took the small square and topped it with almond butter and some slivered almonds.  It was small but perfect.  And I am totally not holding it against myself.
  • I was really tired.  Not long after dinner, I was ready for bed.  Usually I head up around 9-930pm on a work night in the hopes of being asleep by 10-1030pm, but last night, it was all I could do to stay up past 8pm!

 Day 2-

Felt a lot like Day 1.  Here are some thoughts on the day:

  • I still felt a little sluggish.  930-10am and 2pm-3pm are my worst times.  I feel like I cannot get a single task done.
  • Since there is no lunch here right now, everyone I eat with is ordering out.  It didn’t bother me too much today, but I anticipate it bothering me in a week from now.
  • I went to the gym and felt ok, but it wasn’t the greatest workout I ever had.  Can I blame that on the coffee too??
  • Overall, I was kind of glad when the day was over.

 

Day 3-

I took the day off because I had read over and over that day three can be the toughest.  I didn’t think it was tough but that is more than likely because I took off and after my morning workout and running some errands, I spent the day laying by the pool.  Day two was much tougher.

  • It was nice to have off and get a really good nights sleep and wake up without an alarm.
  • I love morning workouts so much.  I have to be in work by 7am and I work an hour away from where I live, so morning workouts are out of the question and something I really enjoy when I have the opportunity.  Today, I had a really good workout!
  • I had THE BEST post workout smoothie today and felt super energized while getting my errands done.  It was full of almond milk, almond butter and bananas.  I am also using About Time Whey Isolate protein.  I truthfully haven’t done enough research on which whey is best for me (although I am working on it now) but this one looked pretty clean to me, had good macros and is what I felt like was best for a start.   I’ll take suggestions!
  • I was ALREADY kind of bored with my food options.  Money is definitely a struggle, so I have to get better at meal planning so that I don’t feel stuck to the same foods.  I have been eating tons of chicken and shrimp and I just needed something new!  (I know shrimp isn’t something the entire “clean camp” agrees with, but I believe it to be healthy and I eat tons of it!  Plus, Tiffany over at Gracious Pantry includes it on her list and I see her as a good barometer!)
  • I decided to pick up some brown rice pasta and make myself a dish of lemon and garlic shrimp with pasta.  It satisfied the craving and I no longer felt bored.  Amazing how one meal can change things!

 

I will talk about Day 4 in my next update but I want to say this…I woke up with an energy level I have not felt in a long time.  I didn’t even get a good nights sleep thanks to a terrible overnight storm, yet I felt great when I woke up.  I am only on Day 4 but I can tell a difference.  I guess if I had to sum up how I feel in one word…it would be lighter.  Not pound wise (I haven’t even weighed myself since Sunday) but just in general.  Something about me just feels lighter.  And energized.  It feels good and is motivation to keep going!!!

 

Energy Level: I would say an average of 4 for the first three days but it is definitely on its way up!

Hunger Level:  The only time I feel hungry is in the afternoon after lunch and it’s not because I am actually hungry.  It is because I am used to coming back from lunch and snacking all afternoon, which I have stopped doing.  For the most part, I find I am totally satisfied.  I am a little surprised by that because I am definitely eating less in quantity, but I know it is because the quality is so much better.

Overall:  It is hard to get used to the food prepping, the planning and the packing.  I am trying to make sure I always have something on hand, so I am not tempted.  I think I am sleeping better, wake up more refreshed and my skin is a bit clearer.   I will feel a little better when the dining hall opens back for lunch next week and it feels like a little less work.  I also need to continue to find new recipes, so that I don’t get bored.  Overall, I am glad I am challenging myself but it is not easy.

 

Posted on June 19, 2014, in clean eating, Food, Health. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I am able to get out of bed immediately upon hearing my first alarm but I still don’t give myself a ton of wiggle room in the mornings. I am really good about drinking water though because I HAVE to drink water after I brush my teeth.
    I’m sure your energy levels will increase once your body adjusts to not needing as much caffeine. It sounds like you are already on your way there!
    I prefer morning workouts too but already wake up at 4:50 to catch the 5:45 train so they are out of the question for me as well.

Leave me love <3

