I Bought A Blender (and I have a free shipping code!)

You know you’re old when…you get way excited over the purchase of a new blender!

Seriously, I feel like I spent as much time on buying a blender as I did on buying a house!

Before I started making breakfast smoothies every day, I think I used my blender all of 10 times.  After using my Oster 5-speed blender for only one week, I realized quickly that I needed to invest in something better…and quick!  The Oster is good enough for some stuff, but every time I rev it up, I worry if it will be it’s last rodeo.  It just wasn’t built for everyday use and it doesn’t have the ability to make much more than a smoothie.  And I think it hates spinach more than I hate avocados because it is a bitch to clean!!!!

So I did it.  I splurged.  I really didn’t have the money, but I figure if I have to keep buying $30 blenders, eventually I would be spending more than I could afford anyway.  So I did it.

I went over and over and over…Nutri-Bullet, Vitamix or Blendtec.  It was not an easy choice and the internets only made it harder!!!  I researched tons of websites, blogs and review pages.

Now, you need to know one thing about me.  If I go out with the intention to have one beer, but I have two…I have buyers remorse.  Every time I go to Target…buyers remorse.  I have an incredibly hard time buying things for myself.  I work SO HARD for my money.  Until last August, I had two jobs.  For most of my life, I have had two or three jobs and at times was a full time student on top of it.  Technically, I currently have one job, but I pick up every single extra event I can at work.  I do every SAT, ACT and SSAT testing day…giving up a ton of my Saturday’s.  I proctor the Student Center once a week during the school year.  I work every camp sign-in on Sundays during the summer.  I will pick up anything at my job if it means extra money.  And I use that money for bills, gas and every now and then for a night out.  I am lucky that there are some great parents at this school whom often gift me on holidays and at the end of the year with gift cards; then I can treat myself (without guilt) to Starbucks, Dunkin Donuts and use VISA gift cards for new clothes.  My parents hook me up every Christmas with grocery and clothing store gift cards.  I make use of every coupon or store savings I can.  What I am trying to convey here is this…this was a HUGE purchase for me.  To have bought this for myself was a huge deal.  I am not a cheap person by any means, but I am frugal and careful with my money.  However, after weeks (and weeks!) of researching, thinking, weighing my options and reading reviews, I decided this was a worthwhile purchase and pulled the trigger.

Here is how I finally broke it down to make a decision:

NutriBullet:

  • While it was the cheapest option and there were some pros that were very key in my life (takes up very little space, powerful, good for single use, easy to clean), I also kept reading about their terrible customer service.  That pretty much ruled them out right off the bat, except that I couldn’t get over how low the price was and the fact that I could easily store it.

Blendtec:

  • This was actually my first choice.  I was pretty sold on it because  everything can be done in one jar, it has pre-programmed buttons, it is easy to clean and comes with a great warranty.  However in every single review, good or bad, there was something said about the atrocious noise.  But even that didn’t completely rule it out for me.  I figured I would deal with the noise because the price was right and it got more good reviews than bad ones.

Vitamix:

  • The only bad review I could find on the Vitamix is that it takes up a lot of space.  Pretty small complaint but considering my counter space is already at a premium, this was a tough one for me.  I barely have room as it is with my KitchenAid mixer, coffee maker and microwave.  On top of that, it was by far the most expensive option and I couldn’t find a way to justify it.  Everyone says is the Ferrari of blenders, but at some point I have to draw the line.

 

So…drumroll please…

I BOUGHT A VITAMIX!!!!

5200-black-machine-rglam

Forget the need to draw lines.  At the end of the day, this was the best purchase.  Especially because…da da da da…they are currently having a special on refurbished 5200’s and I got it for $299.00 PLUS free shipping!  They are regularly $329 and shipping is $25, so I saved $55!  Had I gotten a Blendtec, I would have also gotten a refurbished one, and it would have been $279 (comes with free shipping), so I only paid $20 more than I would have if I went with my initial choice.  And I would have had to deal with the insanely loud noise that legit was complained about in every single review.  Lastly, when it came to reviews, I had to LOOK to find a negative one about Vitamix.  The only things I could find other than space, was that you need to purchase a separate pitcher for grinding spices or making bread.  Since I do not intend to use it for either of those reasons, it only made sense to go with the Vitamix.  (If you are thinking of buying one, the $30 discount is good until the end of June and if you want the free shipping, you can use the code:  06-007021)

I honestly do think that it is a matter of personal opinion and depends on what your needs are when it comes to which one you buy.  I am sure I would have been happy (albeit, perhaps deaf) with a Blendtec, but I am really happy I was able to treat myself to the Vitamix.  In the end, I think it will pay for itself by way of healthy eating.  I already have a whole list of things to make, and I cannot wait!

I will be sure to do a personal review when it arrives!

 

Do you own a Vitamix, Blendtec, Nutribullet or any other special blender?  What are your thoughts?

 

 

 

Posted on June 10, 2014, in Around the House, Food, Life in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I have a Magic Bullet. It’s not a fancy full-sized blender but I like it. I don’t make smoothies nearly as often as I did when I first bought it 6+ years ago but it still gets some use. We make dressings and pesto and other things in it on a fairly regular basis and it’s super easy to clean.

  2. I’ve still got the $30 Oster.

Leave me love <3

