Getting Healthy One Step At A Time

I have an admission to make.  I am jealous of people who can’t eat when they are stressed.  When I am stressed, all I do is eat.  That is on top of the amount of eating I do on the regular.  Working in a school keeps me stressed 9 months out of the year.  That is on top of the every day stresses of life in general.  So I eat.  A lot.

I am never going to be the type of person who doesn’t eat.  It won’t happen.  Simply put, I just love food.  I also have a tendency to get very hangry (hungry+angry) if I don’t eat for too long.  I try to balance my love of food with my love of working out, but I realized recently that I need to make a much more conscious effort to be more aware of what I am eating and how much I am eating.   I need to love a few foods less (french friends) and a lot of foods more (beans and vegetables).

It’s hard.  Damn hard.

The biggest issue for me is that when I stop thinking about it, I really stop thinking about it.  I’ll think of a plan (I really hate the word diet) and do really well for a while but then over time I just stop doing what works.  Or I’ll be so into working out that I can keep off the weight without thinking too much at all.  The problem with that is this…it isn’t healthy.  What I need to do, is change the way I live when it comes to food.  Stop coming up with “plans” and just change my lifestyle in general.  That way, it’s not even something I have to think about.

Since fall, I have made some small changes.  I have eliminated most dairy (still use regular cheeses) from my house and try to keep it at a bare minimum when I am dining out.  I use almond milk and almond flour.  I eat brown rice instead of white, wheat pasta instead of white, I cut out American cheese completely and started incorporating more vegetables into my meals.  Those are just a few ways I have slowly been making changes to my lifestyle.  In just a few months, I have become so much more cognizant of what I am putting into my body.  For years I have read labels, but now I am much more focused on ingredients and how each ingredient will work to benefit my body.  I am also being smarter about what I order when I am out to eat.

It’s amazing to me; I always thought I was aware of what was good and bad and of what I was eating, but I still have a lot to learn.   So much of what I am learning and implementing is common sense and I wonder why it has taken me so long to make these simple changes.  It’s not all stuff I didn’t know…I just wasn’t doing it.  Or even worse, there are things I didn’t know, that I feel like I should have known.  I have always thought of myself as a pretty healthy person, but I am slowly realizing that I still have so much work to do.

Are you a stress eater?  What are some steps you have taken to get healthier?

 

❤ Jillian

 

 

Posted on May 21, 2014, in Food, Health. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Oh gosh. Yes, I am a stress eater. I could have written this same thing, unfortunately. It’s sad that the changes are often such common sense ones but we have such a hard time making them! But! Look at you! You are being smart and slowly changing things and that is probably the way to make it stick! I go from following a healthy diet (I don’t mind the word) then something snaps and I stop caring. And I am never depriving myself. I am just like, whatever! I do what I want. Sigh. Why is it so hard? I applaud the steps you have made so far! 🙂

  2. I am definitely a stress eater! And, worse, I often myself thinking that I deserve certain foods because I am stressed or certain things are happening.

    Way to go on taking small steps! It’s the only way to do it.

  3. Oh I really eat my feelings. Like, the moment I am bummed. It’s a hard habit to break because food is comfort, sadly 😦

    Lifestyle changes are not easy, but they are worth it.

Leave me love <3

